ACCREDITED STANDARDS COMMITTEE C37, POWER SWITCHGEAR

STATUS REPORT for ASC C37 Committee IEEE PES Switchgear Committee NEMA Switchgear Section 10 October, 2017

This report provides status of the ASC C37 Committee at this time.

Operating Procedures:

Revised operating procedures were accepted by ANSI via letter ballot late March, 2017.

NEMA is the secretariat of the Committee, and Gerad Winstanley of the NEMA staff is the interim ASC C37 Secretary. John Webb is the chair of the committee.

Membership:

The committee membership has been updated.

First	Last		NEMA	Voting	
Name	Name	Organization	Member	Status	Interest Category
Doug	Edwards	Siemens Industry, Inc.	NEMA Member	Voting	ANSI - USER
John	Leach	Hi-Tech Fuses/ABB	Non Member	Voting	ANSI - USER
Paul	Sullivan	DuPont	NEMA Member	Voting	ANSI - USER
Michael	Wactor	Powell Industries, Inc.	Non Member	Voting	ANSI - USER
Roy	Alexander	PPL Corporation	Non Member	Voting	ANSI - GEN INTEREST
Paul	Barnhart	UL LLC	Non Member	Voting	ANSI - GEN INTEREST
Mike	Weitzel	Bechtel Corporation	Non Member	Voting	ANSI - GEN INTEREST
Pete	Dwyer	IEEE	Non Member	Alt. Voting	ANSI - GEN INTEREST
George	Nourse	Electrical Engineering	Non Member	Alt. Voting	ANSI - GEN INTEREST
		Service			
Jerry	Baskin	Federal Pacific	NEMA Member	Voting	ANSI – GEN INTEREST
Darryl	Moser	ABB Inc.	NEMA Member	Voting	ANSI - PRODUCER
Carl	Schneider	Schneider Electric	NEMA Member	Voting	ANSI - PRODUCER
John	Webb	ABB Inc.	NEMA Member	Voting	ANSI - PRODUCER
T. W.	Olsen	Siemens Industry, Inc.	NEMA Member	Alt. Voting	ANSI - PRODUCER
Eddie	Wilkie	Eaton	NEMA Member	Alt. Voting	ANSI - PRODUCER
Terrance	Woodyard	Siemens Industry, Inc.	NEMA Member	Alt. Voting	ANSI - PRODUCER

Although many of the names regularly participate within the IEEE PES Switchgear committee, only the first four names in the list (upright font, not italicized) are appointed by the Switchgear committee to represent the 'User' interest group.

Document status:

The document status is detailed in the table attached as part of this report. All documents are current, but all are in need of revision.

- C37.50 going through comment resolution.
- C37.51 comments accepted, revised draft will be sent for ballot.
- C37.54 no action until C37.04 / C37.09 completed
- C37.55 comments reviewed, next action in April telco.
- C37.57 and C37.58 Comments reviewed
- C37.85 next draft to circulated within this year...

Access to documents:

The documents that are under ASC C37 responsibility are available for download free of charge at the NEMA website.

- Go to www.nema.org
- In the menu bar, select "Standards"
- Enter the number of the standard in which you are interested, e.g., C37.51, in the "search standards" block, and then select "GO".
- The result will be an opportunity to download the relevant documents under the ASC C37 committee free of charge.
- Repeat the process for additional standards under the ASC C37 committee.

These documents are also available from IEEE-SA as part of the Switchgear Standards Collection.

The committee continues to operate in an essentially similar fashion to the recent past, with participation by persons representing the major interest groups (IEEE, EEI / EL&P, and NEMA) and by general interest members.

The activities of the Committee are conducted almost entirely by E-Mail, with informational update meetings held in conjunction with the IEEE PES Switchgear Committee meetings when needed.

John C. Webb Chair, ASC C37 Power Switchgear