Alternative Gases TF Meeting Minutes

October 10, 2017 –Portland, USA



Chair: Nenad Uzelac Secretary: Karla Trost

Meeting Minutes

1. Call to Order Nenad Uzelac

The meeting was called to order at 4:17PM.

2. Introduction of Members and Guests

3. Attendance and Quorum Check

9 members (out of 28) attended the meeting. There were 45 attendees in total.

4. Meeting highlights:

- Nenad gave the update on the technical report:
 - Technical report is completed and Karla reformatted it in accordance to IEEE format.
 Nenad requested volunteers to review the document one more time before it is sent to Switchgear Committee.
 - Li Yu, Edgar Dullni and Eldridge Byron volunteered to review the document and send it back to Nenad and Karla by end of November.
 - Once Switchgear committee receives the report, they will distribute it to switchgear members for 30 day electronic review.
 - After that the report will be
 - After that, Alternative Gases TF will do the last changes and it will be sent to PES Tech council to get published.
- Nenad gave the update on the new working groups:
 - The TF recommends creating two working groups, that require committee approval:
 - 1. "Gas Handling" WG would be led by George under Substation committee, with liaisons to Switchgear committee
 - 2. "Gas Performance Characteristics" WG would be led by Dan Schiffbauer under Switchgear jurisdiction., with liaisons to Substation committee.
 - NOTE: Nenad reported the TF recommendations at Switchgear Adscom committee meeting. Next step is to write the Scope for both Working Groups and submit to both committees. The goal is to finalize this process before next meeting.
- Nenad asked if there are any volunteers to participate in the future working groups. Refer to the attendance list below.

7. New Business

- No new business
- **8. Adjournment** The meeting was adjourned at 5:00PM.

Annex: Attendance (Members)

		(, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,			
	First				
	Name:	Last name	Member	Company	Present
1	Koustubh	Ashtekar	Regular	Eaton	X
2	George	Becker	regular	Power Engineering	Excused
	Jean-				
3	Marc	Biasse	corresponding	Schneider	
4	Eldridge	Byron	regular	Schneider	X
5	Pat	DiLillo	regular	ConEd	X
6	John	Eastman	regular	Incon	
7	Arnaud	Ficheux	corresponding	GE	
				Swiss Institute of	
8	Christian	Franck	corresponding	Technology	Excused
9	Lukas	Graber	corresponding	Georgia Tech	Excused
10	Peter	Grossman	corresponding	Siemens	Excused
11	Victor	Hermosillo	regular	Alstom	X
12	James	Houston	regular	Southern Co	
13	Roy Neil	Hutchins	Regular	Southern Companies	Х
14	Dan	Hrncir	corresponding	Eaton	
15	Martin	Kriegel	Regular	ABB	Excused
16	Carol	Leiter	Regular	BPA	
				Power Projects	
17	Paul	Leufkens	regular	Leufkens	X
18	Neil	McCord	regular	Southern States	
19	Ted	Olsen	regular	Siemens	
20	John	Owens	Corresponding	3M	Excused
21	Carl	Reigart	regular	Hubbell	
22	David	Rhein	regular	Hubbell	
23	Daniel	Schiffbauer	regular	Toshiba	Х
24	Karla	Trost	regular	G&W Electric	Excused
25	Nenad	Uzelac	regular	G&W Electric	Х
26	Mark	Waldron	Regular	National Grid	
27	Jerry	Wen	corresponding	BC Hydro	Х
28	Li	Yu	corresponding	Eaton	Excused

Annex: Attendance (Guests – all were present)

First Name:	Last name	Company	Want to Join WG?
Amir	Khosravi	BC Hydro	Yes
Edwin	Almeida	South Cal Edison	No
Ang	Xiao	3M	Yes
Jack	Harley	First Power Group LLC	No
Sushil	Shinde	ABB inc	yes
Pete	Meyer	S&C Electric	No
Pete	Marzec	S&C Electric	No
Chris	Lettow	S&C Electric	No
Edgar	Dullni	ABB Inc	No
Wirz	Torsten	ABB AG	No
Larry	Putman	Powell	Yes
Don	Martin	G&W Electric	No
Rahul	Jain	S&C Electric	Yes
Denis	Dufournet	Consultant	No
Helmut	Weiermei	ABB Switzerland	No
Lukas	Zehnder	ABB Switzerland	Yes
Eldridge	Byron	Schneider	Yes
Carl	Schneider	Schneider Electric	No
Mauricio	Aristizabal	ABB	Yes
Brian	Roberts	Southern States	No
Richard	Burge	Southern States	No
Benson	Lo	Toronto Hydro	No
Jesse	Shank	Power Engineers	No
Paul	Leufkens	Consultant	No
Thomas	Rok	Pacific Gas Electric	Yes
Zachary	Pintado	Entergy	No
Andrew	Chovanel	GE Grid Solutions	No
Victor	Hermasillo	GE Grid Solutions	Yes
Wangpei	Li	Eaton	No
Helmut	Becskei	Gipro	Yes
Raj	Nayar	Siemens	No
Jeremy	Hensberger	MEPPI	No
Mark	Patson	H-J	No
Jeff	Door	H-J	No
Neil	Hutchins	Southern Company	Yes
Pat	Dillio	Con Ed	No
Jared	Hines	Eaton	Yes
Vince	Chiodo	HICO	No
Koustubh	Ashtekar	Eaton	Yes
Francois	Trichon	Schneider	Yes
Jerry	Wen	BC Hydro	Yes