# **Meeting Minutes**

# A. Call-to-Order and Agenda

The Spring 2016 face-to-face Group meeting was held on April 27, 2014 at the Sonesta Resort, in conjunction with the IEEE PES Switchgear Committee Meetings. The Group meeting was called to order at 12:30 PM by the Chair, John Webb.

## B. Attendance

Introductions were made of all attendees. Attendees are listed below.

Name	Affiliation
Doug Edwards	Siemens Industry, Inc.
Ken Edwards	Bonneville Power Administration
Leslie Falkingham	Vacuum Interrupters Limited
Keith Flowers	Siemens Industry, Inc.
Todd Irwin	GE Grid Solutions
John Leach	Consultant – High Tech Fuses
Allan Morse	Siemens Industry, Inc.
Ted Olsen	Siemens Industry, Inc.
Carl Reigart	Hubbell Power Systems
Mike Skidmore	AEP
Kirk Smith	Eaton
Paul Sullivan	DuPont
John Webb	ABB

### C. Previous Minutes

No comments, corrections or additions to the F15 meeting minutes.

### D. Award Nominations

Nominations are needed for IEEE SA level awards, which are due July 31.

Will change the review for Technical Council awards from Fall to Spring, to create more time to complete the submission forms. Will also change the IEEE SA level awards nominations from Spring to Fall.

## IEEE-SA:

- International Award nomination: Nomination determined
- Medallion: Nomination determined
- · Steinmetz: Nomination determined

# **Meeting Minutes**

## **Technical Council:**

- Individual: Nomination determined
- Young Professional Award (due March 29): No nominations at this time.

# E. Honorary Members

Added six in F15.

What is the criteria / threshold for qualification for honorary member status? After discussion, it was agreed that the qualifications defined in P&P. No clarifications needed.

No new honorary member proposals for S16.

Remove the "(deceased)" marker for those who we know that have passed on.

John Webb to research if we know the dates each honorary member was added to the list, which may be a future action item for maintenance of the list.

## F. Awards for Main Committee Meeting

Past Committee Chair: Ted Olsen Past Subcommittee Chair: Chris Ambrose (RODE), Mauricio Aristizabal (HVCB)

## G. Technical Presentations

Need a Tuesday luncheon presentation for F16. Thursday is set ("Vacuum Interrupters 101" – Leslie Falkingham) John Webb to reach out to the city of Pittsburg, and determine if there is anyone with knowledge of the history of electrical power in the city who might be willing to speak at the luncheon.

Need a Tuesday luncheon presentation for S17. Thursday is set ("Case Studies in Engineering Ethics" – Daniel Schiffbauer)

### H. New Business

Leslie Falkingham motioned to nominate Kirk Smith as Transactions Editor. Carl Reigart seconded. Unanimously approved.

Minutes submitted by: Keith Flowers April 27, 2016