IEEE Switchgear Committee

Education, Recognition, and Publication Subcommittee Meeting

September 23rd, 2015 San Diego, CA

AGENDA

- 1. Welcome and introduction of members
- 2. Awards Nominations Discussed as follows:

Discussion

PES WG Award Possible for standard or guide

(Criteria = must be published, eligible 3 years after publish date)

• Submittal determined to PES. Announcement pending PES.

TC (Switchgear) Distinguished Individual Service Award

• To be recognized at next meeting

TC (Switchgear) Working Group

• To be recognized at next meeting

SA Medallion

- Awarded to Bill Bergman
- Defer to spring for next nomination

SA International

- Awarded to Bill Long
- Defer to spring for next nomination

Steinmetz

• Nominee Selected: Deadline January 31, 2016

Switchgear Committee

- Past Chairs To be recognized at Spring Meeting following rotation
- Past SC Chair To be recognized at Spring Meeting following rotation
- 3. Honorary Members List:
 - Harry Josten

- Larry Farr
- John Shullaw
- Ed Jankowich
- Jim Swank
- Denis Dufournet

Corresponding members at option of WG chair, none at Main Committee Level

4. Technical papers

- 4.1. ERP has been advised that Transaction Paper Editors are expected to rotate on a periodic basis. Both current editors, Dean Sigmon and Leslie Falkingham have been active at TP Editors for several years and replacements should be nominated.
 - 4.1.1. An extension of up to two years will be requested while new TP Editors are recruited. John Webb to put out call at Main Committee Meeting.

<u>Note</u>: Following Main Committee Meeting Kirt Smith volunteered to serve as Technical Paper Editor for MV/HV papers. Request extension of Leslie Falkingham until after next meeting to facilitate turnover.

4.2. Technical Papers for Review

Technical Committee Program Coordinator Amy Rowell reported via correspondence. Four papers were under review as potential submissions to the IEEE T&D Conference in May 2016.

<u>Note</u>: Follow-up correspondence received just prior to the Main Committee meeting indicated that none of the four were selected for submission.

- 5. Awards to be recognized at Main Committee Meeting:
 - 5.1. IEEE-SA Medallion Bill Bergman
 - 5.2. IEEE-SA International Award Bill Long
- 6. Technical presentations

(Please note: Includes updates received following adjournment of the meeting)

- 6.1. This Meeting
 - 6.1.1. Tuesday: John Leach Engineer at Sea ...
 - 6.1.2. Thursday: Nenad Uzelac ElectroMagnetic Field Surveys
- 6.2. Spring 2015:
 - 6.2.1. Tuesday: Need
 - 6.2.2. Thursday: Edgar Dullni "Long term performance of bare and coated Contacts at high temperatures"
- 6.3. Fall 2016:
 - 6.3.1. Tuesday: Need

- 6.3.2. Thursday: Leslie Falkingham Vacuum Interrupters '101'
- 6.4. Spring 2017:
 - 6.4.1. Tuesday: Need
 - 6.4.2. Thursday: Daniel Schiffbauer "Case Studies in Engineering Ethics"

7. New Business -- None

Adjourn