## C37.23 Metal Enclosed Bus Working Group Minutes of the Spring 2015 Meeting Tradewinds Island Resort, St. Pate Beach, FL USA Wednesday, April 29, 2015

### 1. Introductions

The meeting was called to order by the Chair, Art Jur at 8:00 AM. Art welcomed the members and guests. Attendees introduced themselves identifying their employer and affiliation.

### 2. Attendance

Present at the meeting were eighteen Working Group members and six guests. One member was excused from attendance. There are twenty six WG members currently on the roster. Quorum was met.

Last Name	First Name	Elover =	Affiliation	Current WG	N-4
Burse	Ted	Employer Powell Industries, Inc.	Powell Industries, Inc.	Voting Member	Notes
Campbell	Jon	Powell Electrical Systems Inc.	Powell Electrical Systems Inc.	Voting Member	
Cohn	Robert	Powercon Corp.	Powercon Corp.	Voting Member	
Edwards	Douglas J	Siemens Industry, Inc.	Siemens Energy, Inc.	Voting Member	
Flack	Michael	Southern Company	Southern Nuclear Operating Company	Voting Member	
Gingrich	Paul	AZZ/Central Electric	AZZ/Central Electric	Voting Member	
Gohil	S	AZZ Switchgear Systems	AZZ Inc.	Voting Member	
Hack	Bruce	Crown Electric Engineering & Manufacturing, LLC.	Not Applicable (N/A)	Voting Member	
Hawkins	Thomas	Siemens Industry, Inc.	Siemens Industry, Inc.	Voting Member	
Hrncir	Dan	Eaton Corporation	Eaton Corporation		
Jur	Arthur	Eaton Corporation	Eaton Corporation	Voting Member	
Mayle	Frank	Technibus, Inc.	Technibus, Inc.	Voting Member	
McClelland	John	Technibus, Inc.	Technibus, Inc.	Voting Member	
miller	mike	MDF Cable Bus Systems LLC	MDF Cable Bus Systems LLC	Observer	Requested Membership
Olsen	T	Siemens Industry, Inc.	Siemens AG	Voting Member	
Peters	Edward	Powell Industries, Inc.	Powell Electrical Systems Inc.	Voting Member	Excused
Powell	Steve	AZZ/Calvert	AZZ Inc.	Voting Member	
Reddy	Samala Santosh	Powell Industries, Inc.	Powell Industries, Inc.	Voting Member	
Roberson	Mark	AZZ Inc.	AZZ Inc.	Voting Member	
Rohr	Richard	Powell Electrical Systems Inc.	Powell Electrical Systems Inc.	Voting Member	
Rowell	Amy	Eaton Corporation	Eaton Corporation	Observer	
Sharma	Devki	Self Employed	Entergy Corporation	Observer	
Sullivan	Paul	DuPont	DuPont	Voting Member	
Warren	Robert	DNVGL KEMA Lab	DNVGL KEMA Lab	Observer	
Earl	Jerry	ABB, Inc.	ABB, Inc.	Observer	
Moser	Darryl	ABB, Inc.	ABB, Inc.	Observer	
Rizo	Julian	Xcel Energy	Xcel Energy	Observer	

## 3. Approval of the meeting minutes from Fall 2014

- 3.1 Meeting minutes were distributed on the Switchgear Committee website and by email.
- 3.2 No comments were made.
- 3.3 Motion made by Frank Mayle to approve minutes, seconded by Ted Olsen
- 3.4 Minutes were unanimously approved.

### 4. Approval of the agenda

- 4.1 Agenda was previously distributed via email and shown during the meeting.
- 4.2 No comments were made.
- 4.3 Motion made by Frank Mayle to approve agenda, seconded by Mark Roberson.
- 4.4 Agenda was unanimously approved.

# C37.23 Metal Enclosed Bus Working Group Minutes of the Spring 2015 Meeting Tradewinds Island Resort, St. Pate Beach, FL USA Wednesday, April 29, 2015

- 5. Discussion of comments on balloted Draft D6.0
  - 5.1 The ballot resulted in 267 total comments: 127 Technical, 109 Editorial and 31 General
  - 5.2 The Chair and Vice Chair had created a strawman resolution to each comment received from the first ballot.
  - 5.3 The Chair presented the comments deemed most controversial for WG discussion.
  - 5.4 The WG resolved 16 comments of those deemed controversial.
- 6. New Business
  - 6.1 Task Force request for C37.20.7 Arc Resistant as it relates to ME Bus:
    - 6.1.1 Art Jur requested volunteers to form a Task Force to work on issues with the current draft of C37.20.7 This Task Force will not be managed within the C37.23 WG, rather the volunteers will need to self-manage and report back to Mike Wactor, Chair of C37.20.7 WG. Ten individuals volunteered:
      - 6.1.1.1 Ted Burse
      - 6.1.1.2 Ted Olsen
      - 6.1.1.3 John McClelland
      - 6.1.1.4 Frank Mayle
      - 6.1.1.5 Paul Gingrich
      - 6.1.1.6 Paul Sullivan
      - 6.1.1.7 Robert Warren
      - 6.1.1.8 Bruce Hack
      - 6.1.1.9 Jon Campbell
      - 6.1.1.10 Art Jur
  - 6.2 Request for temperature information from C57.19.04 Working Group
    - 6.2.1 Devki Sharma, representing the Bushings Subcomittee, Working Group for High Current Generator Step-Up (GSU) Transformers, requested information regarding the maximum temperature inside ME Bus.
    - 6.2.2 The WG concluded that 105 °C was the maximum total temperature allowed on the conductors of the ME Bus.
  - 6.3 Request to remove Cable Bus from the draft:
    - 6.3.1 Bruce Hack addressed the Working Group to discuss his desire to remove Cable Bus from the draft.
    - 6.3.2 Bruce made the following motion, seconded by Bob Cohn:
      - "The product described as cable bus should stay removed from C37.23."
    - 6.3.3 The motion was defeated by a vote of 14 Opposed, 3 Approve.
- 7. Future Plans:

# C37.23 Metal Enclosed Bus Working Group Minutes of the Spring 2015 Meeting Tradewinds Island Resort, St. Pate Beach, FL USA Wednesday, April 29, 2015

- 7.1 Within 1 week of this meeting, Vice Chair will distribute the comment resolution list with straw man positions to the WG members.
- 7.2 There will be a 21 day comment period.
- 7.3 Any straw man resolutions that receive no comments will be considered approved by the WG.
- 7.4 After the comment period, the Chair and Vice Chair will determine if any web/tele conferences are required to resolve comments.
- 7.5 After the draft is updated to create D7.0 with all comment resolutions, a recirculation ballot will be initiated.
- 8. Adjournment
  - 8.1 The meeting adjourned at 11:49 AM.

Report submitted by:

Tom Hawkins
C37.23 Working Group Vice-Chair
April 29, 2015