RODE Meeting Minutes





Chair: Chris Ambrose Vice-Chair: Nenad Uzelac

Meeting Minutes

- 1. Meeting called to order at 3:54 PM by Chris Ambrose
- 2. Self-Introductions, including affiliations, were given and the roster was circulated.
- 4. The agenda was displayed for review and approval.
 - a. Moved to accept Dave Stone. Second by Tim Royster.
 - b. The agenda was approved as amended.
- 5. Minutes from the spring 2014 meeting were displayed on screen.
 - a. Frank pointed out some minor word choice errors, but nothing substantially impacting the minutes
 - b. Moved to accept Steve Meiners. Dave Stone second.
- 6. **C37.74 Report** Steve Meiners
 - 16 members, 21 guests.
 - Submitted to RevCom. 8 comments, 1 disproved. After discussion, the comment was accepted.
 - Estimating release Q1 2015.
 - The WG is on schedule to publish by the end of 2014
- 7. **Solid Dielectric Taskforce** Francois Soulard
 - In between meetings editorial changes.
 - Last rev of the document was presented at the meeting.
 - The question is where to go from now (see below under new business)
- 8. Taskforce for Distribution Controls Nenad Uzelac
 - Meeting was held on Monday. 25 members and 9 guests.
 - Jeff Gieger volunteered to be the chapter lead for Mechanical Factors
 - The project is still on schedule to be completed by the end of 2015.
 - Upon draft is completed (end of 2014), TF would like to send the report to IEEE relay committee for review / comments. RODE to find a contact person.
 - Nenad to work with Erin to see what is the IEEE requirement / procedure for publishing the Technical Report
- 9. **C37.62 Report** Antone Bonner.

- Frank DeCesaro held the meeting.
- The WG held its 3rd meeting,
- xx members and yy guests were present.
- Discussion on Scope. Antone to check if new technical changes will be allowed in the Fault Interrupters.

•

10. **IEEE C37.60/IEC 62271-111** (dual-logo standard) – Dave Stone

- 19 members, 11 guests, 4 excused.
- Reviewed homework from Orlando, reviewed IEC comments.
- Will be reporting the progress of the project to IEC TC in November.
- Expected that this project will be delayed since the Common Requirements

11. **IEEE C37.66** – Harry Hirz

- No meeting this session.
- Working on common clauses. 500 comments, around 250 editorials. The overall plan is to reciculate in Spring.
- Extend C37.66 for 2 years.

12. ERP Committee – Chris Ambrose

- John Webb new chair, replacing Mietek.
- Plan to nominate work of Dave Stone.
- Dave Stone will be receiving the award in December.
- Push for IEEE fellows.

13. Old Business

No old business

14. **New Business**

- a. Common requirements:
 - i. Proposing significant changes:
 - i. Changing voltage rating table to simplify it.
 - An example: adopt the one second wet test at the full dry High Pot voltage (with lower water salinity), eliminate 10s requirement.
 - ii. Standard Chairs to review the new proposed new voltage table and leave the feedback.

b. Visible Break:

- i. Visible break is not covered under RODE standards.
- ii. Jeff Geiger proposed the list of the tests to cover visible break.
- iii. Create a discussion group:
 - i. Francois, Jeff, Nenad, Bill, Jerry, Paul, Rick
 - ii. Discussion group will come back with the recommendations to the next meeting.

- c. Solid dielectric task force:
- d. S

15. Future Meetings

- a. Spring 2015 (April 26 30), Tradewinds Island Resorts, St. Pete Beach, FL USA
- b. Fall 2015 (September 20 24), Catamaran Resort Hotel, San Diego, CA USA
- c. Spring 2016 (April 25 29) Sonesta Resort, Hilton Head, SC USA

16. **Meeting adjourned** at 5:39 PM

Respectfully submitted by

Chris Ambrose Chair, RODE Subcommittee May 8, 2014

Attachments (Note to WG Chairs; WG Attendance)

Attachments (text of referenced PowerPoint Presentations)

Note to WG Chairs

(Ref.PES WG PP D7 Final Apprd 2013-07-23 for Switchgear, from Mike Crawford)

- A meeting notice shall be distributed, by a Working Group Officer or designee, to all participants 30 calendar days in advance to all participants.
- A meeting agenda shall be distributed to all participants at least 14 calendar days in advance of a meeting.
- There shall be a Chair, and there should be a Vice-Chair and/or a Secretary.
- All officers shall be IEEE members and individual IEEE-SA.
- Each Working Group shall have a Chair, appointed by the responsible Subcommittee.
- At the first organizational meeting, the Working Group chair shall appoint its operating officers (Vice-Chair, Secretary and Treasurer if applicable).

WG Attendance

In order to ensure that we have quorums at the meetings, we need to ensure that the members of our Task Forces and, even more importantly, Working Groups are active.

From the proposed "Policies and Procedures for: Working Groups", which is scheduled to be balloted at the main committee meeting:

Membership status is maintained through consistent participation at meetings and through Working Group votes. If a Working Group member misses two consecutive meetings, or two consecutive Working Group letter ballots, his or her membership status may be revoked. The Chair shall notify, in writing, a member who fails to attend two consecutive meetings and who has therefore lost his or her membership.

The Chair shall review the voting membership list at least annually. Voting members are expected to fulfill the obligations of active participation as defined in Clause 4.1.1. When a voting member is found in habitual default of these obligations, the Chair shall consider the matter for appropriate action, which may include termination of membership.

#	Role	First Name	Last Name	Company	Country	5/7/2014
1	Chair	Chris	Ambrose	Federal Pacific	USA	Х
2	Vicechair	Nenad	Uzelac	G&W Electric	USA	Χ
3	Member	Jerry	Baskin	Federal Pacific	USA	Χ
4	Member	Robert	Behl	ABB	USA	Χ
5	Member	Antone	Bonner	Eaton	USA	Χ
6	Member	Frank	DeCesaro	Eaton's Cooper Power Systems	USA	Х
7	Member	Edgar	Dullni	ABB	Germany	Х
8	Member	Jeffrey	Gieger	Thomas & Betts	USA	Χ
9	Member	Harold	Hirz	Thomas and Betts	USA	Χ
10	Member	Edward	Jankowich	Representing ABB/T&B	USA	Х
11	Member	Chris	Lettow	S&C Electric Company	USA	Χ
12	Member	Donald	Martin	G&W Electric Co.	USA	Χ
13	Member	Steven	Meiners	GE	USA	Х
14	Member	Larry	Putman	Powell Electrical Systems Inc.	USA	Χ
15	Member	Timothy	Royster	Dominion Virginia Power	USA	Χ
16	Member	Francois	Soulard	Hydro-Quebec	Canada	Χ
17	Member	David	Stone	DTS Technical Services	USA	Χ
18	Member	James	Swank	Eaton's Cooper Power Systems	USA	Χ
19	Member	William	Walter	We-Energies	USA	Χ
1	Guest	John Paul	Adigwu	Southern California Edison	USA	Χ
2	Guest	Christopher	Borck	Cooper Power Systems	USA	Χ
3	Guest	Samuel	Chang	Pacific Gas & Electric Co	USA	Χ
4	Guest	David	Dart	NOJAPower	Australia	Χ
5	Guest	Jonathan	Deverick	Dominion Power	USA	Χ
6	Guest	Mark	Feltis	Schweitzer Engineering Laboratories, Inc	USA	Х
7	Guest	Douglas	Fitchett	American Electric Power Co	USA	Χ
8	Guest	Paul	Found	BC Hydro	Canada	Χ
9	Guest	William	Glennon	Schweitzer Engineering Labs	USA	Х
10	Guest	Reid	Herzog	OG&E	USA	Χ
11	Guest	Travis	Johnson	Xcel Energy	USA	Х
12	Guest	Bradley	Lewis	AEP	USA	Х
13	Guest	Wangpei	Li	Eaton	USA	Х
14	Guest	Amit	Patel	GE	USA	Х
15	Guest	Ben	Rosenkrans	Eaton Corporation	USA	Х
16	Guest	Tyler	Ujhazy	Southern California Edison	USA	Х
17	Guest	John	Vartanian	National Grid	USA	Х