RODE C37.62-Fault Interrupters.

September 22, 2014, Asheville, NC



Chair: Antone Bonner

Meeting Minutes

1. Call to order and introduction:

- Meeting started at 3:45 PM.
- Antone Bonner, the working group chair, was not able to attend this meeting. Frank DeCesaro led the meeting.
- The group roster was not available therefore a paper signup sheet was routed.
 - o There were 13 members and 10 guests in attendance.

2. Self-Introductions of guests and members:

• Self-introductions were given

3. Previous Meeting Minutes

- The official minutes from the spring meeting in Orlando were downloaded from the IEEE PES archive and reviewed. Francois Soulard moved to accept and Chris Ambrose seconded.
- It was commented that the minutes of the group should be submitted using the template for RODE working groups.

4. Update

- The PowerPoint slides prepared by Antone were reviewed by the group. These provided modified project dates.
- It was commented that chapter 7 on testing was completed and submitted to Antone earlier this month.
 - o It was questioned if it would be a good use of time to review this document since the working group did not receive it ahead of time therefore had not reviewed it.
 - The decision of the group was not to discuss this document. They will wait until Antone has it available as draft 1.
- The PowerPoint slides stated that draft 1 would be created and provided to the working group in November, 2014. Comments will be solicited by everyone at that time.
 - The working group wants this draft to include line numbers, to facilitate identifying lines that have comments. This is similar to other ballots sent out by the IEEE SA.
 - The group also requested the chair to utilize the SA comments spreadsheet for obtaining WG comments in a uniformly accepted manner. This will simplify the review process at the spring meeting.
- The working group anticipates a lot of comments from the internal balloting and suggest that the chair reserve two sessions for the work to be done at the Spring meeting

- The working group also requests that the chair obtain some assistance from the section working groups to review the comments and resolve many noncontroversial comments prior to the spring meeting. This will allow time at the meeting to focus on comments that have a wider diversity of views. The group can still request a change in the resolution at the spring meeting if they don't agree with the recommendations.
- A comment was made that the first draft of C37.60 had comments in it regarding fault interrupters. The chair should contact Dave Stone and obtain a list of the comments from that ballot that referred to fault interrupters since the next version of C37.60 draft won't have fault interrupters in it.
- Nenad Uzelac inquired about having technical changes in the standard. Frank DeCesaro commented that it was he was informed that the PAR was only for extracting fault interrupter clauses from C37.60 and those additions, other than that, would not comply with the PAR.
 - Comments were made stating that the PAR wording does not limit the work only to extraction of information. The PAR was displayed on the screen and discussion on it followed.
 - It was also commented that once the standard goes out to SA ballot it is a completely new document and all parts are open for comments including requests for changes to the technical content. Once this occurs then the group has to respond to the technical content.
 - Many in the group agreed with this interpretation. The chair is requested to contact the PES officers to discuss this before the spring meeting. This may need an interpretation by the IEEE also.

5. New business

No new business was brought up.

6. Next meeting:

The next meeting will be held at St. Pete Beach, FL – April, 2015

7. Adjourn

Meeting adjourned at 4:25 PM

					Attendance
				Membership	at 9/22/14
First Name	Last Name	Company	E-mail	Status	Mtg
John Paul	Adigwu	SCE	johnpaul.adigwu@sce.com	M	
Peter	Agliata	Hubbell PS	pmagliata@hubbell.com	M	Х
Chris	Ambrose	Federal Pacific	chris.ambrose@federalpacific.com	M	X
Harm	Bannink	DNV KEMA	harm.bannink@dnvkema.com	М	
		S&C Electric			
David	Beseda	Company	david.beseda@sandc.com	М	Х
Antone	Bonner	Eaton's Cooper PS	antonebonner@eaton.com	М	exc
Frank	DeCesaro	Eaton's Cooper PS	<u>frankpdecesaro@eaton.com</u>	М	Х
Leslie	Falkingham	VIL	falkingham@ieee.org	M	
Paul	Found	BC Hydro	paul.found@bchydro.com	M	X
Jeff	Gieger	T&B/Elastimold	jgieger@ieee.org	M	X
Ed	Jankowich	ABB/T&B	emjjankowich@gmail.com	M	Х
		S&C Electric			
Chris	Lettow	Company	Chris.Lettow@sandc.com	М	
Wangpei	Li	Eaton	wangpeili@eaton.com	М	
Don	Martin	G&W Electric Co.	dmartin@gwelec.com	М	Х
Steve	Meiners	GE	smeiners@ieee.org	М	
		Powell Electrical			
Larry	Putman	Systems	Iputman@argontech.net	М	exc
		S&C Electric			
Scott	Reed	Company	scott.reed@sandc.com	М	X
Ben	Rosenkrans	Eaton Corp.	benrosenkrans@eaton.com	М	
		Dominion Virginia			
Tim	Royster	Power	tim.royster@dom.com	М	
Francois	Soulard	Hydro Quebec	soulard.francois@hydro.qc.ca	М	Х
Tom	Stefanski	Powertech Labs	tom.stefanski@powertechlabs.com	M	X
Jim	Swank	Eaton's Cooper PS	jamesmswank@eaton.com	М	
Nenad	Uzelac	G&W Electric Co.	nuzelac@gwelec.com	M	Х
Bill	Walter	WE Energies	bwalter@ieee.org	M	Х
Rick	Allen	United Illuminating	richard.allen@uinet.com	G	X
Jerry	Baskin	Federal Pacific		G	X
Chris	Borck	Eaton's Cooper PS	christopherdborck@eaton.com	G	
David	Dart	Noja Power		G	
William	Ernst	Thomas & Betts	william.ernst@tnb.com	G	Х
Dan	Gardner	T&B-ABB		G	
Peter	Glaesman	Reuel	pglaesman@reuel.com	G	
Charlie	Hendrickson	Az Pub Serv. Co.	pg.idesman@reden.com	G	Х
Reid	Herzog	Okla Gas & Electric	herzogrp@oge.com	G	X
Travis	Johnson	XCEL XCEL		G	X
Ken	Lee	T&B/Elastimold	ken.lee@tnb.com	G	X
Amit	Patel	GE	amitpatel@ieee.org	G	X
Christian	Sasse	Travida Electric	anniputer receions	G	
Jon	Spencer	TNB, ABB	jon.spencer@tnb.com	G	X
Andrew		SCE	swisher@sce.com	G	
	Swisher	G &W Electric			
Karla	Trost		ktrost@gwelec.com	G	X
John	Vartanian	National Grid	john.vartanian@nationalgrid.com	G	

Submitted by Antone Bonner IEEE C37.62 Chair October 8, 2014