IEEE Power & Energy Society Switchgear Committee C37.20.2 Working Group Report 05-May-2104

The working group met on Monday, May 5, at 8:05 AM.

Attendees introduced themselves and gave their employer and affiliation. Attendance included 16 WG (of 25) members (6 absent, 3 excused by E-Mail or due to simultaneous meetings) and 36 guests. Attendance is as shown below:

Members / Affiliation P. Barnhart (P) – UL J. Bowen (A) - Aramco T. Burse (E) - Powell E. Byron (E) - Schneider J. Earl (P) - ABB D. Edwards (P) - Siemens L. Farr (P) - Eaton D. Gohil (P) - AZZ D. Lemmerman (P) - Exelon F. Mayle (P) - Technibus D. Mazumdar (P) - AZZ D. Mohla (P) – Consultant Members / Affiliation T. Olsen (P) - Siemens M Orosz (P) - Schneider A. Patel (P) - GE I. Profir (A) - Rockwell R. Puckett (E) - retired C. Schneider (P) - Schneider J. Smith (A) - Eaton H. Song (A) - Bechtel P. Sullivan (P) - DuPont C. Tailor (P) - Eaton J. Toney (A) - GE M. Valdes (A) - GE M. Wactor (P) – Powell

Guests / Affiliation Guests / Affiliation J. Arambewela (P) - General M. Parvin (P) - Chicago Bridge Switchgear Controls & Iron J. Biasse (P) – Schneider A. Peterson (P) - ABB K. Boadi-Boateng (P) - PEPCO M. Roberson (P) - AZZ R. Boyce (P) - Eaton S. Powell (P) - AZZ J. Campbell (P) – Powell S. Reddy (P) - Powell R. Cohn (P) - Powell T. Rohrer (P) – Exiscan D. Elliott (P) – ABB M. Seabrook (P) - GE T. Esco (P) - Eaton G. Sims (P) - Eaton C. Slattery (P) – First Energy T. Sovari (P) – Enbridge M. Flack (P) – Southern Nuclear S. Flores (P) - Schneider Energy P. Gingrich (P) – AZZ J. Shullaw (P) - Eaton P. Grein (P) - CBS R. Hartzel (P) – Eaton D. Swing (P) – Powell J. Thayalan (P) - Schneider J. Hines (P) - Eaton R. Warren (P) – DNV-GL J. Joseph (P) – Toshiba Formerly DNV-KEMA W. Li (P) - Eaton W. Wagar (P) - MEPPI A. Lizardo (P) - ABB T. Woodyard (P) - Siemens L. Yonce (P) - Eaton J. McClelland (P) Technibus A. Morse (P) - Eaton

Patents:

Those registered at the Spring 2014 Switchgear Committee meeting had to acknowledge the IEEE-SA rules on Patents, and therefore, review in this meeting is not required. Nevertheless, the Patents slides were reviewed. The participants were reminded that anti-competitive issues are never allowed for discussions.

The minutes from the Fall 2013 meeting were approved as distributed. Moved by P. Barnhart and seconded by F. Mayle. Motion approved without objection.

Open discussion:

- The PAR for this project was approved by IEEE-SA 26-Sept-2008, is valid through 2014.
- Draft D11 was submitted for initial balloting. The ballot closed February 26, 2014, with 121 balloters, 86 % affirmative, with 413 comments submitted. Ballot comments with "strawman" disposition detail were distributed to the working group via E-Mail March 27. Additional comments concerning strawman disposition details were received from several WG members, and a consolidated list was distributed to WG members April 24 in preparation for this meeting.
- The WG reviewed approximately 402 out of the 413 comments, and disposition details revised accordingly.
- It is intended to convene a telephone conference to discuss the remaining 11 comments to determine a working group consensus disposition detail within several weeks after the Orlando meeting.
- When we have working group consensus on the disposition details for all 413 comments, the draft will be updated to match, and a recirculation ballot initiated.

The working group was scheduled to meet from 8:00AM to noon, but an additional meeting was convened at 1:30PM through 3:30PM. By comment consent, the meeting was adjourned at 3:30PM.

Report submitted by:

M. Wactor, WG Chair