IEEE Power & Energy Society Switchgear Committee C37.20.1 Working Group Minutes 06-May-2014

The working group met on Tuesday, May 6, 2014, at 2:05PM.

Patents:

Those registered for the Switchgear Committee meeting in Orlando had to acknowledge the IEEE-SA rules on Patents, and therefore, review in this meeting is not required. The participants were reminded that anti-competitive issues are never allowed for discussions.

The agenda was previously distributed. L. Yonce moved to approve and H. Joston second. Motion approved without objection.

The minutes of the Fall 2013 meeting have had several clerical corrections. F. Mayle moved to approve, and C. Schneider seconded. Motion approved without objection.

The PAR for this project was approved by the IEEE-SA Standards Board on December 5, 2012, and is valid through 2016.

Members introduced themselves, identified their company and their affiliation. Total attendance was 45 persons.

Attendance included 27 working group members (of 38, with 8 absent and 2 excused), plus 18 guests. Attendance is as shown below:

Members / Affiliation	Members / Affiliation	Observers / Affiliation	Observers / Affiliation
P. Barnhart (P) - UL	J. Mizener (A) - Siemens	E. Byron (A) – Schneider	J. Murphy (A) – Reedy Creek
J. Bowen (E) - Aramco	D. Mohla (A) – DCM Electrical	J. Campbell (P) – Powell	J. Nims (A) – Allen & Hoshall
T. Burse (P) - Powell	Consulting	C. Carne (P) – Schneider	G. Nourse (A) – retired
D. Dunne (P) - Schneider	A. Morse (P) - Eaton	S. Colsch (P) - Schneider	M. Orosz (P) - Schneider
D. Edwards (P) - Siemens	D. Moser (P) - ABB	G. Donner (A) - retired	M. Parvin (P) – Chicago Bridge
M. Flack (P) – Southern	T. Olsen (P) - Siemens	A. Gibbs (P) – Schneider	& Iron
Nuclear	O. Parks (A) – ABB	P. Fox (P) - Schneider	A. Patel (A) - GE
K. Flowers (P) – Siemens	R. Parthasarathi (A) -Bechtel	S. Flores (P) - Schneider	S. Powell (A) – AZZ
P. Grein (P) – Circuit Breaker	E. Peters (A) – Powell	L. Grahor (A) - Eaton	T. Rohrer (P) - Exiscan
Sales	R. Puckett (E) – retired	R. Groves (A) – Grant County	C. Ross (A) – PGH Wong
B. Gerzeny (A) - Powell	S. Reddy (P) – Powell	PUD	V. Saporita (A) – Cooper
D. Groves (A) – PACS	R. Rohr (P) - Powell	T. Hendricks (P) – Schneider	Bussman
Industries	A. Rowell (P) - Eaton	D. Jackson (P) - ABB	E. Spiewak (P) – IEEE-SA
T. Hawkins (P) - Siemens	C. Schneider (P) – Schneider	J. Jarque (A) - ABB	E. Tanner (P) - Eaton
D. Hrncir (P) – Eaton	M. Seabrook (P) – GE	A. Jur (P) – Eaton	J. Thayalan (P) - Schneider
A. Jivanani (P) - GE	J. Shullaw (P) – GE	J. Kaminski (P) - Siemens	M. Valdes (E) – GE
H. Josten (P) - Siemens	M. Sigmon (P) - Eaton	J. Kulchisky (A) – CANA High	J. Vergis (A) – Powell
C. Kennedy (P) - Schneider	P. Sullivan (P) - DuPont	Voltage	R. Warren (P) – KEMA
M. Lafond (P) - GE	R. Tanner (A) - Schneider	C. McCollum (P) - ABB	M. Zeedyk (A) - Powell
A. Livshitz (P) – Schneider	L. Yonce (E) - Eaton	McQuin (A) – McQuin Electric	
F. Mayle (P) - Technibus		Power Consulting	
J. McClelland (P) – Technibus			

Draft D3 had been circulated following the Fall 2013 meeting, and comments were provided by a number of working group members. The intent of this meeting is to review and resolve the comments received, with a view to revising the draft and beginning the balloting process.

A motion was made to approve a change in the scope of the PAR, moved by A. Morse and seconded by P. Barnhart. Motion was approved without objection.

C37.20.1 WG minutes Orlando, FL 06-May-2014

Comments in the list dated May 1, 2014 were reviewed.

T. Hawkins moved, and K. Flowers seconded moved to relocate sections 8 and 9 to annexes. Motion passed without objections.

P. Barnhart moved, and H. Josten second, to begin the balloting process after successful resolution of the comments as discussed in this meeting and recirculation of D4 to the working group. Moved by P. Barnhart, seconded by H. Josten. Motion passed by more than 2/3 majority.

The meeting adjourned at 3:48PM.

Report submitted by:

T. A. Burse, WG Chair