IEEE Power & Energy Society Switchgear Committee C37.20.1 Working Group Report 17-September-2013

The working group met on Tuesday, September 17, at 2:00PM.

## Patents:

Those registered for the Switchgear Committee meeting in San Antonio had to acknowledge the IEEE-SA rules on Patents, and therefore, review in this meeting is not required. The participants were reminded that anti-competitive issues are never allowed for discussions.

## General:

The PAR for this project was approved by the IEEE-SA Standards Board on December 5, 2012, and is valid through 2016.

Members introduced themselves, identified their company and their affiliation. Total attendance was 36 persons.

Attendance included 25 working group members (of 37, with 9 absent and 3 excused), plus 11 guests. Attendance is as shown below:

Members / Affiliation	Members / Affiliation	Observers / Affiliation	Observers / Affiliation
P. Barnhart (P) - UL	J. Mizener (A) - Siemens	G. Becker (A) – United	J. Murphy (A) – Reedy Creek
J. Bowen (P) - Aramco	D. Mohla (A) - DCM Technical	Illuminating	J. Nims (A) – Allen & Hoshall
T. Burse (P) - Powell	Consulting	S. Benson (P) – Volta LLC	G. Nourse (A) – retired
D. Dunne (P) - Schneider	D. Moser (P) - ABB	E. Byron (A) - Schneider	A. Patel (A) - GE
D. Edwards (P) - Siemens	T. Olsen (P) - Siemens	C. Carne (A) – Schneider	S. Powell (A) – AZZ
M. Flack (P) - Southern	M Orosz (P) – Schneider	G. Donner (A) - retired	D. Riffe (P) – Westinghouse
Nuclear	O. Parks (P) – ABB	A. Gibbs (P) – Schneider	C. Ross (A) – PGH Wong
K. Flowers (P) – Siemens	R. Parthasarathi (A) -Bechtel	L. Grahor (A) - Eaton	V. Saporita (A) – Cooper
P. Grein (A) – Circuit Breaker	M. Parvin (P) – Chicago Bridge	R. Groves (A) – Grant County	Bussman
Sales	& Iron	PUD	M. Sigmon (P) - Eaton
D. Groves (A) – PACS	E. Peters (A) – Powell	B. Hains (P) – Hubbell	E. Spiewak (P) – IEEE-SA
Industries	R. Puckett (E) – retired	J. Jarque (A) - ABB	D. Swing (P) – Powell
T. Hawkins (P) - Siemens	S. Reddy (P) – Powell	A. Jur (P) - Eaton	M. Valdes (A) – GE
D. Hrncir (P) – Eaton	R. Rohr (P) - Powell	J. Kominski (P) – Siemens	J. Virges (A) - Powell
A. Jivanani (P) - GE	A. Rowell (P) - Eaton	J. Kulchisky (A) – CANA High	R. Warren (P) – KEMA
H. Josten (P) - Siemens	C. Schneider (P) – Schneider	Voltage	Zeedyk (A) - Powell
C. Kennedy (A) - Schneider	M. Seabrook (P) – GE	McQuin (A) – McQuin Electric	
M. Lafond (P) - GE	J. Shullaw (P) – GE	Power Consulting	
A. Livshitz (E) – Schneider	P. Sullivan (P) - DuPont	A. Morse (P) - Eaton	
F. Mayle (P) - Technibus	R. Tanner (A) - Schneider		
J. McClelland (A) – Technibus	L. Yonce (E) - Eaton		

The minutes of the Spring 2013 meeting were approved as submitted. Minutes were approved unanimous.

Task forces assigned at the Spring 2013 meeting had submitted sections of the document for various major sections, and these were distributed prior to the meeting. The output of these task forces was reviewed by the participants.

- Service Conditions S. Reddy
- Ratings K. Flowers
- Tests H. Josten
- Construction T. Hawkins
- Application guide T. Hawkins

- Guide for handling not reviewed
- Scope not reviewed (editorial)
- Normative references not reviewed (editorial)
- Definitions not reviewed (editorial)
- Introduction and front matter not reviewed (editorial)

It had been previously agreed that we will keep the section organization approximately as in the 2002 edition, but take care to differentiate common, ac, general dc, and traction dc requirements (as necessary), in subclauses.

It was also commented that we need to carefully review the dc shunt task force input from Spring 2012 and include in our draft, if not immediately, then in a subsequent draft.

A consolidated draft will be prepared to merge the sections, and this will be sent out by Nov. 15, 2013 for further review by the working group.

The meeting adjourned at 4:35PM.

Report submitted by: T. A. Burse, WG Chair