

### **IEEE POWER & ENERGY SOCIETY / SWITCHGEAR COMMITTEE**

#### CHAIR Ken Edwards

Bonneville Power Admin. TESM/AMPN-2, POB 491 Vancouver, WA 98666 360 – 418 - 8204 k.s.edwards@ieee.org

### VICE CHAIR & TCPC T. W. (Ted) Olsen

Siemens Energy, Inc. 7000 Siemens Road Wendell, NC 27591 919 – 365 - 2208 t.olsen@ieee.org

### STANDARDS COORDINATOR Michael Wactor

Powell Industries, Inc. 8550 Mosley Drive Houston, TX 77075 713 – 948 – 4918 mwactor@ieee.org

# SECRETARY/TREASURER Paul B. Sullivan

Paul B. Sullivan
Dupont
34 Equestrian Drive
Cassatt, SC 29032
803 – 424 - 8373
paul.b.sullivan@ieee.org

May 17, 2011

#### SUBCOMMITTEE CHAIRS

ADSCOM Ted Olsen

ERP (EDUCATION RECOGNITION, AND PUBLICATIONS)

Mietek Glinkowski ABB Inc.

940 Main Campus Drive Raleigh, NC 27606 919 – 856 – 3861

mietek.glinkowski@us.abb.com

HVCB (HIGH VOLTAGE CIRCUIT BREAKERS) Rod Sauls

Southern Company Services Substation Maintenance 11N-0760 Corp Hdqs 600 N 18th St. Birmingham, AL 35203-2206 205 – 257 -- 4143 rodsauls@ieee.org

HVF (HIGH VOLTAGE FUSES) Dr. John G. Leach

Consultant - Hi-Tech Fuses 4461 16th Street PL, NE Hickory, NC 28601 828 – 256 – 3744 j.g.leach@ieee.org

**HVS (HIGH VOLTAGE SWITCH)** 

Carl D. Reigart

Hubbell Power Systems / USCO 8100 Churchill Ave. Leeds, AL 35094 205 – 699 – 0878 creigart@ieee.org

## LVSD (Low Voltage Switchgear Devices) Keith Flowers

Siemens Industry, Inc. 4395 Diplomacy Road Fort Worth, TX 76155 817 – 785 - 2179 keith.flowers@ieee.org

# RODE (RECLOSERS AND OTHER DISTRIBUTION EQUIPMENT) Steven Meiners

GE Energy IS 41 Woodford Avenue Plainville, CT 06062 860 – 747 – 7593 smeiners@ieee.org

SA (SWITCHGEAR ASSEMBLIES)

Anne Morgan PEPCO 701 Ninth St NW Washington, DC 20068 202 – 872 - 3449 afmorgan@ieee.org

PAST CHAIR Bill Long Eaton Corp. 1000 Cherrington Parkway Moon Township, PA 15108 412 – 893 – 3791 Bill.long@ieee.org

### **ERP Subcommittee Minutes:**

- 1. 13 Members were present. 1 member was excused.
- 2. Minutes from Fall 2010 meeting in Las Vegas have been approved.
- Awards: several awards will be presented at the Main Committee meeting on Thursday, including the outgoing chair certificate of appreciation. For the second year in a row our nominated paper won a PES Prize Paper Award.
- 4. Technical excellence- Switchgear Committee and ERP should promote and encourage technical excellence by ways of technical education, tutorials, and presentations. Roy Alexander proposed that as a start Subcommittees will organize technical presentations/tutorials at the main subcommittee meetings and reduce the administrative/WG reporting. We strongly encourage the Subcommittees to have at least one tutorial/presentation per meeting (Fall, Spring). Subcommittee chairs will promote, solicit, and advertise these technical events. The presentations should be technical in nature (not marketing or otherwise commercial) and could be posted on the subcommittee webpages for future reference. In parallel the Subcommittee chairs should look and review their WG meeting requirements and try to reduce the meeting slots for individual WG meetings to free these time slots for technical sessions, presentations, and tutorials.
- 5. Honorary members- one new member has been nominated Alex Dixon.
- 6. Technical papers- Jeff is handing the Prize Paper WG over to Leslie but it did not happen yet at the IEEE Transactions level. At the Fall meeting of ERP Leslie and Jeff will have to review the papers eligible for Prize Paper Awards and propose the nominations for 2012.
- 7. Fellows nominations nothing to report.
- 8. Technical presentations always looking for new proposals and volunteers.
- 9. PES GM 2012 call for papers is coming out soon. Maybe we can arrange the join paper session between Wind Energy TCC and Switchgear TC.

### Respectfully submitted by Mietek Glinkowski.



THE INSTITUTE OF ELECTRICAL AND ELECTRONICS ENGINEERS, Inc.

WEBSITE: http://www.ewh.ieee.org/soc/pes/switchgear/index.htm