

IEEE POWER & ENERGY SOCIETY / SWITCHGEAR COMMITTEE

CHAIR Bill Long Eaton Corp. 1000 Cherrington Parkway Moon Township, PA 15108 412 – 893 - 3791

bill.long@ieee.org

Ken Edwards Bonneville Power Admin. TESM/AMPN-2, POB 491 Vancouver, WA 98666 360 – 418 - 8204 k.s.edwards@ieee.org

VICE CHAIR & TCPC

STANDARDS COORDINATOR Michael Wactor Powell Electrical Systems, Inc. 8550 Mosley Drive Houston, TX 77075 713 – 948 – 4918 mwactor@ieee.org SECRETARY/TREASURER T. W. (Ted) Olsen Siemens Energy, Inc. 7000 Siemens Road Wendell, NC 27591 919 – 365 - 2208 t.olsen@ieee.org

Sept 30, 2009

SUBCOMMITTEE CHAIRS

ADSCOM Ken Edwards

ERP (EDUCATION RECOGNITION, AND PUBLICATIONS)
Mietek Glinkowski

ABB Inc. 940 Main Campus Drive Raleigh, NC 27606 919 – 856 – 3861 mietek.glinkowski@us.abb.com

HVCB (HIGH VOLTAGE CIRCUIT BREAKERS)
Rich York

ABB (China) Ltd. Universal Plaza, 10 Jiuxianqiao Lu Chaoyang District Beijin, 100016 P. R. China +86 10 8456 6688 richyork@ieee.org

HVF (HIGH VOLTAGE FUSES) Dr. John G. Leach

Consultant - Hi-Tech Fuses 4461 16th Street PL, NE Hickory, NC 28601 828 - 256 - 3744 j.g.leach@ieee.org

HVS (HIGH VOLTAGE SWITCH)

Alexander Dixon
Alex Dixon Inc.
2 Hobart Court
P.O. Box 357
Randallstown, MD 21133
410 – 922 – 0014
dixon.alex@ieee.org

LVSD (LOW VOLTAGE SWITCHGEAR DEVICES)

Siemens Energy & Automation, Inc. 4395 Diplomacy Road Fort Worth, TX 76155 817 – 785 - 2179

RODE (RECLOSERS AND OTHER DISTRIBUTION EQUIPMENT)
Steven Meiners

GE Consumer & Industrial 41 Woodford Avenue Plainville, CT 06062 860 – 747 – 7817 smeiners@ieee.org

keith.flowers@ieee.org

SA (SWITCHGEAR ASSEMBLIES)

Anne Morgan PEPCO 701 Ninth St NW Washington, DC 20068 202 – 872 - 3449 afmorgan@ieee.org

PAST CHAIR Ted Burse

Powell Electrical Systems, Inc. 8550 Mosley Drive Houston, TX 77075 713 – 948 – 4599 tburse@ieee.org

ERP Subcommittee Minutes from Denver meeting (9/30/2009):

- 1. Meeting was held in Denver, CO on Wed, Sept 30 with 11 members present. One member (Jeff Nelson) was excused.
- 2. ERP Minutes from Asheville were approved.
- 3. Awards: several nominations were discussed for PES and TC level. Mietek will work with the nominators and prepare the nomination forms to be submitted to PES.
- 4. Scope of ERP: a revised scope of the Subcommittee was discussed in conjunction with the ADSCOM TF on P&P Manual. Steve Lambert moved to approve the revised scope. Rich York seconded. The motion passed 11 to 0. Nobody abstained. Mietek will send the revised scope to Ted Burse (TF on P&P).
- 5. Minutes and other postings on the Web- the process is not working well. The secretary promised to improve the flow speed of documents. The rules are: MoM are due to the Secretary within two weeks after the meeting. Webmaster will notify the Secretary and Vice chair when the Minutes are posted on the Web. It was also discussed that the MoM are for (public) posting only. As such the preferred format is pdf (read only). Other formats are acceptable but they will be converted to pdf by the secretary before posting unless otherwise requested. Files intended for interactive work and similar uses (i.e. engineering calculations, interactive xls sheets, ppt intended to be modified,...) are discouraged from being posted on the committee web pages. These documents could be posted on grouper server WG spaces where they are login/ password protected and agreed on by the WG.
- 6. Honorary members- it was clarified that honorary members do count towards the quorum at meetings when they are present but they DO NOT count towards the quorum when they are absent.
- 7. Definition of the Honorary Membership will be considered for inclusion at the next revision of the P&P manual.
- 8. Fellows WG- nothing to report.

THE INSTITUTE OF ELECTRICAL AND ELECTRONICS ENGINEERS, Inc.

WEBSITE: http://www.ewh.ieee.org/soc/pes/switchgear/index.htm



IEEE POWER & ENERGY SOCIETY / SWITCHGEAR COMMITTEE

CHAIR Bill Long Eaton Corp. 1000 Cherrington Parkwa

1000 Cherrington Parkway Moon Township, PA 15108 412 – 893 - 3791 bill.long@ieee.org

VICE CHAIR & TCPC Ken Edwards

Bonneville Power Admin. TESM/AMPN-2, POB 491 Vancouver, WA 98666 360 – 418 - 8204 k.s.edwards@ieee.org

STANDARDS COORDINATOR Michael Wactor

Powell Electrical Systems, Inc. 8550 Mosley Drive Houston, TX 77075 713 – 948 – 4918 mwactor@ieee.org

SECRETARY/TREASURER T. W. (Ted) Olsen Siemens Energy, Inc. 7000 Siemens Road Wendell, NC 27591 919 – 365 - 2208 t.olsen@ieee.org

SUBCOMMITTEE CHAIRS

ADSCOM Ken Edwards

ERP (EDUCATION RECOGNITION, AND PUBLICATIONS) Mietek Glinkowski

ABB Inc. 940 Main Campus Drive Raleigh, NC 27606 919 – 856 – 3861 mietek.glinkowski@us.abb.com

HVCB (HIGH VOLTAGE CIRCUIT BREAKERS) Rich York

ABB (China) Ltd. Universal Plaza, 10 Jiuxianqiao Lu Chaoyang District Beijin, 100016 P. R. China +86 10 8456 6688 richyork@ieee.org

HVF (HIGH VOLTAGE FUSES) Dr. John G. Leach

Consultant - Hi-Tech Fuses 4461 16th Street PL, NE Hickory, NC 28601 828 - 256 - 3744 j.g.leach@ieee.org

HVS (HIGH VOLTAGE SWITCH)

Alexander Dixon
Alex Dixon Inc.
2 Hobart Court
P.O. Box 357
Randallstown, MD 21133
410 – 922 – 0014
dixon.alex@ieee.org

LVSD (LOW VOLTAGE SWITCHGEAR DEVICES)

Siemens Energy & Automation, Inc. 4395 Diplomacy Road Fort Worth, TX 76155 817 – 785 - 2179 keith.flowers@jeee.org

RODE (RECLOSERS AND OTHER DISTRIBUTION EQUIPMENT)

Steven Meiners
GE Consumer & Industrial
41 Woodford Avenue
Plainville, CT 06062
860 – 747 – 7817
smeiners@ieee.org

SA (SWITCHGEAR ASSEMBLIES)

Anne Morgan PEPCO 701 Ninth St NW Washington, DC 20068 202 – 872 - 3449 afmorgan@ieee.org

PAST CHAIR Ted Burse

Powell Electrical Systems, Inc. 8550 Mosley Drive Houston, TX 77075 713 – 948 – 4599 tburse @ieee.org

9. Outgoing Chairs (for the Main Committee and for 2 Subcommittees) will receive certificates (mounted for the Main Com chair and framed for the Subcom chairs). They will be presented at the next meeting in Myrtle Beach.

- 10. Spring 2010 Technical presentations in Myrtle Beach: luncheon-Bill Long will try to invite PES President elect, Alan Rotz; Thursday am- Mietek will try to schedule CIGRE WG A3.21 Technical Workshop on Solid Dielectric Insulation (Michele De Nigris- convenor).
- 11. Future technical presentation proposals: Georges Montillet-Einstein Mistakes, Leslie Falkingham – CIGRE A3.27, Helmut Heiermeier- SF6/drive R&D for HV CBs - past and present.

Submitted respectfully,

Mietek Glinkowski, Chair ERP Subcommittee, IEEE Switchgear Committee

THE INSTITUTE OF ELECTRICAL AND ELECTRONICS ENGINEERS, Inc.



WEBSITE: http://www.ewh.ieee.org/soc/pes/switchgear/index.htm