

IEEE POWER & ENERGY SOCIETY / SWITCHGEAR COMMITTEE

CHAIR Bill Long Eaton Corp. 1000 Cherrington Parkway Moon Township, PA 15108 412 – 893 - 3791

bill.long@ieee.org

VICE CHAIR & TCPC Ken Edwards Bonneville Power Admin. TESM/AMPN-2, POB 491 Vancouver, WA 98666 360 – 418 - 8204 k.s.edwards@ieee.org STANDARDS COORDINATOR Michael Wactor Powell Electrical Systems, Inc. 8550 Mosley Drive Houston, TX 77075 713 – 948 – 4918 mwactor@ieee.org SECRETARY/TREASURER T. W. (Ted) Olsen Siemens Energy, Inc. 7000 Siemens Road Wendell, NC 27591 919 – 365 - 2208 t.olsen@ieee.org

May 14, 2009

SUBCOMMITTEE CHAIRS

ADSCOM Ken Edwards

ERP (EDUCATION RECOGNITION, AND PUBLICATIONS)
Mietek Glinkowski

ABB Inc. 940 Main Campus Drive Raleigh, NC 27606 919 – 856 – 3861 mietek.glinkowski@us.abb.com

HVCB (HIGH VOLTAGE CIRCUIT BREAKERS)
Rich York

ABB (China) Ltd.
Universal Plaza, 10 Jiuxianqiao Lu
Chaoyang District
Beijin, 100016 P. R. China
+86 10 8456 6688
richyork@ieee.org

HVF (HIGH VOLTAGE FUSES) Dr. John G. Leach

Consultant - Hi-Tech Fuses 4461 16th Street PL, NE Hickory, NC 28601 828 - 256 - 3744 j.g.leach@ieee.org

HVS (HIGH VOLTAGE SWITCH)

Alexander Dixon
Alex Dixon Inc.
2 Hobart Court
P.O. Box 357
Randallstown, MD 21133
410 – 922 – 0014
dixon.alex@ieee.org

LVSD (LOW VOLTAGE SWITCHGEAR DEVICES)

Siemens Energy & Automation, Inc. 4395 Diplomacy Road Fort Worth, TX 76155 817 – 785 - 2179 keith flowers@ieee.org

RODE (RECLOSERS AND OTHER DISTRIBUTION EQUIPMENT)
Steven Meiners

GE Consumer & Industrial 41 Woodford Avenue Plainville, CT 06062 860 – 747 – 7817 smeiners@ieee.org

SA (SWITCHGEAR ASSEMBLIES)

Anne Morgan PEPCO 701 Ninth St NW Washington, DC 20068 202 – 872 - 3449 afmorgan@ieee.org

PAST CHAIR Ted Burse

Powell Electrical Systems, Inc. 8550 Mosley Drive Houston, TX 77075 713 – 948 – 4599 tburse@ieee.org

ERP Subcommittee Minutes from Asheville meeting (5/6/2009):

- 1. Meeting was held in Asheville, NC on Wed, May 6th with 12 members and one (1) guest present.
- 2. Awards: Mietek presented the results of the awards for PES and TC level. (TC level awards were presented later at the Main Committee Meeting on Thu, 5/7)
- 3. It was decided that Dave Stone will be nominated by Steve Meiners (RODE) for International IEEE-SA award and Kirk Smith will be nominated by Rich York (HVCB) for Standards Medallion.
- 4. Bill Long mentioned that Chuck Wagner wants to dispose of his old IEEE Transactions and old Standards. Bill will be looking for a new home for these valuable assets. Possibilities are: IEEE archive, private home of another active member, or a company that has room for archiving.
- 5. Bill Bergman was proposed as a new Honorary Member of the Committee providing that Bill himself will accept this nomination (not a full voting member). Subsequently after the meeting Bill accepted the nomination and thanked the ERP for recognizing his effort and contributions to the Switchgear Committee.
- 6. John Leach pointed out that Dick Arndt is deceased and the Honorary List should reflect that.
- Mietek informed that CIGRE A3 is discussing a new WG
 (A3.2x) on Ageing Substation Equipment and this subject will likely be of high interest to the Switchgear Committee as well. Mietek to circulate the proposed draft scope of the WG to the ERP members.
- 8. Fellows WG- no new development
- 9. Outgoing Chairs (for the Main Committee and for 2 Subcommittees) will receive certificates (mounted for the Main Com chair and framed for the Subcom chairs). They will be presented at the next meeting in Denver.
- 10. It was proposed to nominate Georges Montillet for an award. (TC level or other). This will be discussed at the Fall 09 meeting in Denver.

THE INSTITUTE OF ELECTRICAL AND ELECTRONICS ENGINEERS, Inc.

WEBSITE: http://www.ewh.ieee.org/soc/pes/switchgear/index.htm



IEEE POWER & ENERGY SOCIETY / SWITCHGEAR COMMITTEE

CHAIR Bill Long Eaton Corp. 1000 Cherrington Par

1000 Cherrington Parkway Moon Township, PA 15108 412 – 893 - 3791 bill.long@ieee.org

VICE CHAIR & TCPC Ken Edwards

Bonneville Power Admin. TESM/AMPN-2, POB 491 Vancouver, WA 98666 360 – 418 - 8204 k.s.edwards@ieee.org

STANDARDS COORDINATOR Michael Wactor

Powell Electrical Systems, Inc. 8550 Mosley Drive Houston, TX 77075 713 – 948 – 4918 mwactor@ieee.org

SECRETARY/TREASURER T. W. (Ted) Olsen Siemens Energy, Inc.

Siemens Energy, Inc. 7000 Siemens Road Wendell, NC 27591 919 – 365 - 2208 t.olsen@ieee.org

SUBCOMMITTEE CHAIRS

ADSCOM Ken Edwards

ERP (EDUCATION RECOGNITION, AND PUBLICATIONS) Mietek Glinkowski

ABB Inc. 940 Main Campus Drive Raleigh, NC 27606 919 – 856 – 3861 mietek.glinkowski@us.abb.com

HVCB (HIGH VOLTAGE CIRCUIT BREAKERS) Rich York

ABB (China) Ltd.
Universal Plaza, 10 Jiuxianqiao Lu
Chaoyang District
Beijin, 100016 P. R. China
+86 10 8456 6688
richyork@ieee.org

HVF (HIGH VOLTAGE FUSES) Dr. John G. Leach

Consultant - Hi-Tech Fuses 4461 16th Street PL, NE Hickory, NC 28601 828 – 256 – 3744 j.g.leach@ieee.org

HVS (HIGH VOLTAGE SWITCH)

Alexander Dixon
Alex Dixon Inc.
2 Hobart Court
P.O. Box 357
Randallstown, MD 21133
410 – 922 – 0014
dixon.alex@ieee.org

LVSD (LOW VOLTAGE SWITCHGEAR DEVICES)

Siemens Energy & Automation, Inc. 4395 Diplomacy Road Fort Worth, TX 76155 817 – 785 - 2179 keith.flowers@ieee.org

RODE (RECLOSERS AND OTHER DISTRIBUTION EQUIPMENT) Steven Meiners

GE Consumer & Industrial 41 Woodford Avenue Plainville, CT 06062 860 – 747 – 7817 smeiners@ieee.org

SA (SWITCHGEAR ASSEMBLIES)

Anne Morgan PEPCO 701 Ninth St NW Washington, DC 20068 202 – 872 - 3449 afmorgan@ieee.org

PAST CHAIR Ted Burse

Powell Electrical Systems, Inc. 8550 Mosley Drive Houston, TX 77075 713 – 948 – 4599 tburse@ieee.org

- 11. Quality of technical paper submissions for the Transactions is slipping. All reviewers expressed concern.
- 12. Technical presentations: Denver luncheon- Dave Stone C37.100.1, Denver Thursday am- 3rd Session of the HVCB Tutorial. We are looking for suggestions and volunteer for future presentations. Georges Montillet mentioned that he is preparing a presentation on "A. Einstein Mistakes". He might be willing to present it at the Spring10 meeting.

Submitted respectfully,

Mietek Glinkowski, Chair ERP Subcommittee, IEEE Switchgear Committee

THE INSTITUTE OF ELECTRICAL AND ELECTRONICS ENGINEERS, Inc.



WEBSITE: http://www.ewh.ieee.org/soc/pes/switchgear/index.htm