S07ADSCOMa2



IEEE POWER ENGINEERING SOCIETY / SWITCHGEAR COMMITTEE

CHAIR Ted Burse Powell Electrical Mfg. Co. 8550 Mosley Drive Houston, TX 77075 713-948-4599 tburse@ieee.org

VICE CHAIR

Bill Long Eaton Corporation 170 Industry Drive Pittsburgh, PA 15275 412-787-6436 bill.long@ieee.org

STANDARDS COORDINATOR **Mike Wactor** Powell Electrical Mfg. Co. 8550 Mosley Drive Houston, TX 77075 713-948-4599 mwactor@ieee.org

SECRETARY/TREAS Ken Edwards **BPA** TESM/AMPN-2, POB 491 Vancouver, WA 98666-0491

k.s.edwards@ieee.org

SUBCOMMITTEE CHAIRS

ADSCOM Bill Long

ERP (EDUCATION, RECOGNITION, AND PUBLICATIONS) **Mietek Glinkowski** ABB Inc. 940 Main Campus Drive Raleigh, NC 27606

919-856-3861 mietek.glinkowski@us.abb.com

HVCB (HIGH VOLTAGE CIRCUIT BREAKERS)

Rich York ABB Inc. 100 Distribution Circle Mount Pleasant PA 15666 richvork@ieee.org

HVF (HIGH VOLTAGE FUSES)

John Leach Hi-Tech Fuses Inc. 415 19th St Drive, SE Hickory, NC 28602 j.g.leach@ieee.org

HVS (HIGH VOLTAGE SWITCH)

Alexander Dixon Alex Dixon Inc. 2 Hobart Court P.O. Box 357 Randallstown, MD 21133 410-922-0014 dixon.alex@ieee.org

LVSD (LOW VOLTAGE SWITCHGEAR DEVICES)

Doug Edwards Siemens Power T&D, Inc. P.O. Box 29503 Raleigh, NC 27626-0503 919-365-2337 doug.edwards@ieee.org

RODE (RECLOSERS AND OTHER DISTRIBUTION EQUIPMENT) **Steve Meiners General Electric** 41 Woodford Avenue Plainfield, CT 06062

SAS (SWITCHGEAR ASSEMBLIES) Ted Ölsen Siemens Power PO Box 29503

Raleigh, NC 27626 T.olsen@ieee.org

PAST CHAIRMAN Jeff Nelson

- To: Switchgear Committee Chair Re: ERP Subcommittee Meeting Minutes, St Pete, FL
- 1. 12 members attended the ERP Subcommittee meeting:
 - a. Steve Lambert (Fellows Nomination WG)
 - Jeff Nelson (Past Com Chair). b.
 - Ted Olsen (SA Subcommittee) c.
 - Bill Long (Vice Chair Swgr Com) d.
 - Rich York (HVCB Chair) e.
 - Steve Meiners (RODE Chair) f.
 - John Leach (HV Fuse Subcommittee) g.
 - Ted Burse (Swgr Com Chair) h.
 - Doug Edwards (LVSD Chair), i.
 - Alex Dixon (HV Switch Subcommittee), i.
 - k. Ken Edwards (Swgr Com Secretary/Treasurer)
 - Mietek Glinkowski (ERP Chair) I.
- 2. Awards: we have prepared and presented at the Thursdsy general Meeting the following awards:
 - Past Chairs of the Switchgear Committee: Alec Monroe (will be а presented at the Fall 07 meeting) and Jeff Nelson
 - b. Past Chairs of Subcommittees: John Wood (RODE Subcommittee), Dave Lemmermann (SA Subcommittee), Bill Bergman (HVCB Subcommittee)
 - Standards Coordinator: Dean Sigmon C.
 - d. New IEEE Fellow: Leslie Falkingham (presentation only) We have reviewed the results of the IEEE PES awards for WG Technical Report, Prize paper, and Standards or Guide. There was one nomination for the 2007 award: C37.100.1 (Dave Stone) for Standards. It will be reviewed and finalized at the Fall 07 ERP meeting.
- 3. List of Honorary Members has been updated and two names added: Gerry Sakats and Jerry Jerabek. Mietek will send a notification e-mail to these two new honorary members.
- Jeff Nelson volunteered to be ERP's WG chair on Prize Paper Awards. 4.
- Technical council also has an award for an outstanding Technical Committee. 5. Jeff Nelson will finalize the nomination for the Switcghear Committee by the next meeting in Fall 07.
- We are very proud that one of our members (Leslie Falkingham) has been 6. elected to the IEEE Fellows grade. CONGRATULATIONS Leslie!



May 10, 2007



IEEE POWER ENGINEERING SOCIETY / SWITCHGEAR COMMITTEE

CHAIR Ted Burse Powell Electrical Mfg. Co. 8550 Mosley Drive Houston, TX. 77075 713-948-4599 tburse@ieee.org

VICE CHAIR

Bill Long Eaton Corporation 170 Industry Drive Pittsburgh, PA 15275 412-787-6436 bill.long@ieee.org STANDARDS COORDINATOR Mike Wactor Powell Electrical Mfg. Co. 8550 Mosley Drive Houston, TX 77075 713-948-4599 mwactor@ieee.org SECRETARY/TREAS Ken Edwards BPA TESM/AMPN-2, POB 491 Vancouver, WA 98666-0491

k.s.edwards@ieee.org

SUBCOMMITTEE CHAIRS

ADSCOM Bill Long

ERP (EDUCATION, RECOGNITION, AND PUBLICATIONS) Mietek Glinkowski ABB Inc. 940 Main Campus Drive Raleigh, NC 27606 919-856-3861 mietek.glinkowski@us.abb.com

HVCB (HIGH VOLTAGE CIRCUIT BREAKERS) Rich York

ABB Inc. 100 Distribution Circle Mount Pleasant, PA 15666 richyork@ieee.org

HVF (HIGH VOLTAGE FUSES)

John Leach Hi-Tech Fuses Inc. 415 19th St Drive, SE Hickory, NC 28602 j.g.leach@ieee.org

HVS (HIGH VOLTAGE SWITCH)

Alexander Dixon Alex Dixon Inc. 2 Hobart Court P.O. Box 357 Randallstown, MD 21133 410-922-0014 dixon.alex@ieee.org

LVSD (Low Voltage Switchgear Devices) Doug Edwards Siemens Power T&D, Inc.

P.O. Box 29503 Raleigh, NC 27626-0503 919- 365-2337 doug.edwards@ieee.org

RODE (RECLOSERS AND OTHER DISTRIBUTION EQUIPMENT) Steve Meiners General Electric 41 Woodford Avenue Plainfield, CT 06062

SAS (SWITCHGEAR ASSEMBLIES) Ted Olsen Siemens Power PO Box 29503 Raleigh, NC 27626 T.olsen@ieee.org

PAST CHAIRMAN Jeff Nelson

- We had two excellent presentations during the S07 meeting: Wanda Reder (President-Elect of IEEE PES) and Carlos Cruz : Substation Restoration after Katrina. Copies of the presentations will be available on our Web site.
 Proposals for technical presentations for Fall 07:
 - a. John Wood- Padmounted Substations
 - b. Leslie Falkingham- Vacuum Interrupters for High Voltage Applications
 - c. Dave Stone- Common Clauses (C37.100.1)
 - d. Roy Alexander- Capacitive Current Switching
 - e. Dave Peelo- Current Interruption with HV Disconnectors
 - f. Bernhard Deck- IEC 61850
 - g. Prof. Ravi Gorur- Performance of Outdoor Insulation
- 9. Subcommittee Web pages- it has been decided that Minutes of the meeting will be posted on the Web page <u>one month after the meeting</u> and then again (as a second upload) <u>one month before the following</u> meeting. Minutes not provided to the Secretary by these dates will NOT be posted. Subcommittee Web pages will be reviewed (once per meeting) by the Subcommittee Chairs and the updates sent to the Web Master (Mietek Glinkowski) for uploading.
- 10. Ken Edwards will send the new Patent and IP protection guidelines to Mietek for posting on the Main Committee home page.
- New comment form (xls) is now posted on our home page. Further improvements to the comments file are expected from the IEEE HQ (Matt Ciglia).
- 12. Ted Olsen provided two convenient summary guidelines for interpretation of standards. These are posted on our home page now and ready to be used by the Subcommittee Chairs who receive Requests for Standards Interpretations.

Submitted respectfully by Mietek Glinkowski

