

IEEE ISTAS 2019, 15 - 16 November 2019 School of Engineering of Tufts University, Medford Campus, Boston, MA <u>https://attend.ieee.org/istas-2019/program/</u>

## Plenary 1: Sustainable Development – Addressing Societal Challenges, Friday 15 Nov Prof. Paul M Cunningham, IST-Africa Institute



Prof. Paul M Cunningham is Director, <u>IST-Africa Institute</u>, a not-forprofit strategic collaboration with ministries and national councils responsible for Innovation, Science and Technology policy and adoption, implementation and research in 18 African Member States, open to participation by all ACP (African, Caribbean, Pacific) Countries.

Founded in 2002, <u>IST-Africa</u> focuses on strengthening ministry policy and strategy capacity through cross-border collaboration, helped African universities secure over  $\notin$ 200 million in research funding in the last ten years and supports wider implementation of government and university

Innovation Spaces, supporting entrepreneurship and capacity building to address graduate and youth unemployment through co-design and collaborative open innovation. Supported by European Commission and African Union Commission, IST-Africa is a member of UN Sustainable Development Solutions Network and recognized by ITU as a WSIS 2018 Prizes Champion.

Paul is the co-founder of <u>mHealth4Afrika</u>, which has co-designed a standards-based, comprehensive patient-centric health platform for use in resource constrained environments in cooperation with Ministries of Health, District Health Offices, Clinics Managers and nurses in healthcare facilities in Ethiopia, Kenya, Malawi and South Africa.

In the context of IEEE volunteer activities, Paul is the VP of Conferences and Past President of <u>IEEE Society on Social Implications of Technology</u> (2017- 2018), Past Chair of <u>IEEE Humanitarian Activities Committee</u> (2018), Chair of <u>IEEE Global Humanitarian Technology</u> <u>Conference</u> (2019), an IEEE SSIT Distinguished Lecturer, Member of <u>IEEE Global Public</u> <u>Policy Committee</u> (2017 – 2018) and IEEE Division VI Delegate-Elect/Director-Elect 2020.