Generator Subcommittee

Minutes of Meeting Tuesday, July 22, 201, 10:30–11:45 AM Location: Vancouver, British Columbia

1. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by Vice Chairman John Yagielski. The attendees briefly introduced themselves. (Please refer to Attachment A of a listing of the attendees.)

2. **2012 Minutes**

The minutes of the 2012 meeting were approved as corrected.

3. New Officers

The terms of our officers will expire at the end of 2013. The following new officers were selected:

Chairman: John Yagielski

Vice Chairman: Gayland Bloethe Secretary: Candidate to be recruited

3. Officer Reports:

Chairwoman Kay Chen submitted a written report. This is included as Attachment B.

4. Working Group reports:

There was no report from Working Group 5 on work in IEEE 492, Maintenance of Hydroelectric Machines.

The chair of Working Group 6 summarized current progress. He noted that Cambridge has a 20 kW superconducting machine.

Working Group 8 (Comparison of IEEE C50.13 and IEC Generator Standards) is proceeding to make the incremental revisions to IEEE C50.13 to continue the process for harmonizing it with the corresponding IEC standards. The latest revision of the standard should be balloted before the next meeting.

Working Group 10 (Generator On-Line Monitoring) under the leadership of Izzy Kerszenbaum will have a standard ready for balloting by the end of the year.

5. Liaison Reports:

The liaison reports are being published separately on the Electric Machinery Committee web site.

6. Torsional Events

There is a need to create a paper on the subject of torsional events based on the information presented in 2012 at San Diego. Geoff Klempner is interested in participating, but does not have the time to serve as chair of the group. It was noted that EPRI has prepared a report on the

subject.

7. Standards Review

The technical council has been trying to standardize the policies and procedures for writing standards. They will start to audit committees to ensure that IEEE policies are being followed.

Geoff Klempner is willing to review draft standards to make sure they are in order for submission to IEEE.

8. Web Site

The web site has been upgraded. We are looking for a volunteer to take over as subcommittee web master.

9. Awards

The awards will be presented at the Electric Machinery Committee meeting.

Attachment A— Attendees

Attendee	Affiliation
Mathieu Bergeron	Alsthom Power
William G. Bloethe	Sargent & Lundy, LLC
Murray Coultes	
Randall Groves	Grant County PUD
Kenichi Hattori	Hitachi Power Systems
Karen Hedlund	Tacoma Power
Daisuke Hiramatsu	Toshiba
Joseph Hurley	Siemens Energy
Relu Ilie	Israel Electric
Haran Karmaker	TECO Westinghouse
Izzy Kerzenbaum	Exponent
Geoff Klempner	AMEC NSS
Kevin Mayor	Alsthom Power
William McCown	Siemens Energy
Jim Michalec	WEG Electric
Lon Montgomery	Siemens Energy
Pragasen Pillay	Concordia University
John Ready	Bechtel
M. P. Reddy	Teco-Westinghouse
Mike Sedlak	Midwest Generation
Manoj Shah	GE-Global Research
Willa Wen	BC Hydro
John Yagielski	GE Power and Water
Jun Yoshida	Hitachi

Attachment B— Generator Subcommittee Report (July 2013)

There are currently 48 members of the subcommittee as listed on the GSC roster. The most recent annual meeting was held in San Diego, July 2012. The next meeting is scheduled for the week of July 21, 2013, at Vancouver, British Columbia.

Current GSC Officers are as follows:

Chairman: Kay Chen (ke.chen@siemens.com)

Vice Chairperson: John Yagielski (john.yagielski@ge.com)

Secretary: William G.Bloethe (William.g.bloethe@sargentlundy.com)

Current Working Group Activities are summarized below:

WG1 Awards	The Awards & Recognition Chair submitted nominations for 2012 awards as follows:
	 Prize Paper: "Modeling of Salient-Pole Wound-Rotor Synchronous Motors for Population-Based Design," Transactions on Energy Conversion, June 2011, Vol. 26, No. 2, pp. 381-392. Service Award: Stefano Bomben for distinguished service to the IEEE Power & Energy Society as manifested by leadership of the Materials Subcommittee and contributions to IEEE Prize Standard: IEEE Std. 1310, Recommended Practice for Thermal Cycle Testing of Form-Wound Stator Bars and Coils for Large Rotating Machines. The Working Group was chaired by Greg Stone.
	There are also five members elevated to Fellow this year and that Generator Committee member Clyde Maughan will receive the Cyril Veinott Award at the Awards Dinner.
WG5 Revision of IEEE 492	The working group started in 2010. The PAR has not been completed as of 2010. No report was sent from this WG for 2012-2013.
WG6 Application Guide for Superconducting Machines	The working group had meetings in 2012 in San Diego. An application guide is under work. No report is received from this working so far.
WG8 Harmonization of IEC and IEEE Concerning IEEE C50	The working group submitted their first draft for ballot in 2012. There were 68 people in the pool, 55 people gave approval vote, 1 person gave a negative vote. The working group currently is working to resolve negative comments and prepare the draft for re-ballot.
WG10 Generator On-Line Monitoring	. The WG10 has made significant progress since last PES meeting. Based on feedback from members of the Group, six revisions of the draft were carried out. The 7th draft, which is a major improvement over the old Std will be discussed during the PES in Vancouver. Based on the progress done so far and the positive feedback from a number of members, we will be able to prepare the std for balloting by the end of the current year or soon thereafter.

New Business

No new business for 2012-2013.

Prepared by: Kay Chen 7/12/2013