Computer Society Standards Activities Board Standards Committee (C/SAB SC)

17 December 2024 teleconference – Minutes (draft)

Unapproved version





Call to order and Participation reminder

- Chair called the meeting to order at 9:01am ET and presented the participation reminder, including the call for patents, SA copyright policy, and SA participation slide deck.
- Attendees
 - Edward Au SAB SC Chair
 - Jon Rosdahl SAB SC Vice Chair
 - Annette Reilly SAB SC Member
 - Dennis Brophy SAB SC Member
 - Joseph Levy SAB SC Member
 - Mike Montemurro SAB SC Member
 - Jonathan Goldberg IEEE SA
 - Gang Li CESI
 - Ming Li Hong Kong Polytechnic University
 - Richard Zhang CESI
- Quorum established with 6 members present





Participation reminders

- <u>IEEE Call for patents</u>
- IEEE SA Copyright Policy
- IEEE SA Participation Slides



Agenda

- Call to order and Participation reminder
- Approval of agenda and past meeting minutes
- 2025 deadline for submitting PARs
- Status of Working Groups and PAR Study Group
- PAR modification requests from Internet of Food Working Group
- New PAR review
- Motion to disband inactive working groups
- Any other business
- Annex: 2024 Organization roster





Administrative motions

- Motion #1: To approve the agenda as presented on the previous slide.
 - Moved: Joe Levy
 - Seconded: Jon Rosdahl
 - Discussion: None
 - Result: Approved with unanimous consent
- Motion #2: To approve the meeting minutes of the 8 October 2024 C/SAB SC as shown in the document https://ieee-sa.imeetcentral.com/p/aQAAAAAFJbUA
 - Moved: Jon Rosdahl
 - Seconded: Joe Levy
 - Discussion: None
 - Result: Approved with unanimous consent





2025 deadline for submitting PARs

SAB SC deadline	C/SAB SC meeting (9am to 11am ET, Tuesday)	NesCom deadline	NesCom meeting
29 November 2024 (extended to 6 December 2024)	17 December 2024	20 December 2024	29 January 2025
24 January 2025	11 February 2025	14 February 2025	24-28 March 2025
7 March 2025	18 March 2025	28 March 2025	7 May 2025
18 April 2025	6 May 2025	9 May 2025	16-20 June 2025
1 July 2025	22 July 2025	31 July 2025	8-10 September 2025
22 August 2025	2 September 2025	12 September 2025	22 October 2025
9 September 2025	30 September 2025	20 October 2025	8-10 December 2025





Status of Working Groups and PAR Study Groups At a glance

• As of 11 December 2024, we have:

- 11 Working Groups with active projects (excluding new PARs on NesCom agendas)
 - 15 active new PARs (i.e., no amendment PAR)
 - All active PARs in draft development (i.e., no PAR is in SA ballot phase)
- 10 active published standards
- Status spreadsheet (<u>2024/12/11</u>)

• As of 11 December 2024, we are a co-Standards Committee of the following PARs:

- P2048 Standard for Metaverse: Terminology, Definitions, and Taxonomy
- P2846a Formal Model for Safety Considerations in Automated Vehicle Decision Making
- P2975.1 Standard for Industrial Artificial Intelligence (AI) Data Attributes
- NOTE: Jonathan and Edward will ask the leadership of C/DCTSC, C/FSSC, and C/AISC whether they are willing to be the co-Standards Committee of these 3 PARs.





P2796.1 PAR modification

- <u>P2796.1</u>: Standard for Data Requirements for Internet of Food Systems
 - It is a request from the Big Data Governance and Metadata Management Working Group
- Motion 2024-024: Approve to forward the P2796.1 PAR modification request to IEEE SASB NesCom.
 - Move: Dennis Brophy
 - Second: Mike Montemurro
 - Discussion: None
 - Result: Approved (6 Yes, 0 No, 0 Abstain)
 - NOTE: Jonathan and Edward to ask the IEEE SASB NesCom Administrator to prepend "Section 2.1:" to the explanatory note in Section 8.1.





P2796.2 PAR modification

- <u>P2796.2</u>: Standard for Data Exchange Architecture and Interface Requirements for Internet of Food Systems
 - It is a request from the Big Data Governance and Metadata Management Working Group
- Motion 2024-025: Approve to forward the P2796.2 PAR modification request to IEEE SASB NesCom.
 - Move: Dennis Brophy
 - Second: Mike Montemurro
 - Discussion: None
 - Result: Approved (6 Yes, 0 No, 0 Abstain)
 - NOTE: Jonathan and Edward to ask the IEEE SASB NesCom Administrator to prepend "Section 2.1:" to the explanatory note in Section 8.1.





New PAR review

- Standard for Data Service Capability Evaluation Models
 - <u>Updated draft PAR</u>
 - <u>Introductory slide deck</u>
 - It is a request from an entity.
- Motion 2024-026: Approve to forward the new PAR documentation entitled "Standard for a Data Service Capability Model" to IEEE SASB NesCom.
 - Move: Mike Montemurro
 - Second: Dennis Brophy
 - Discussion: None
 - Result: Approved (5 Yes, 0 No, 0 Abstain)





Motion to disband inactive Working Groups (1)

- From time to time, we still received notification from myProject that an individual is interested in any of the C/SAB SC working groups that are no longer active.
- Currently, there are no rules or requirements on when a working group is disbanded or deactivated in myProject. However, there cannot be any formal working group actions without an SASB-authorized activity (e.g., a PAR). A working group is formed by a standards committee upon acceptance and assignment of a standards development project. Once there are no active standards development projects assigned, the standards committee may choose to take action to disband the working group or, based on coordination and discussion with the working group, choose to keep the working group active for potential future standards development projects or PAR study group activities.





Motion to disband inactive Working Groups (2)

- Motion 2024-027: Approve to disband the following Working Groups:
 - 1. 3D Based Medical Application Working Group (C/SABSC/3333-2_WG)
 - 2. Project Administration Working Group (C/SABSC/ADMIN)
 - 3. Working Group for XML Musical Application (C/SABSC/WG_1599)
 - Move: Jon Rosdahl
 - Second: Dennis Brophy
 - Discussion: None
 - Result: Approved (4 Yes, 0 No, 0 Abstain)





Any other business?

- None
- The meeting adjourned at 10:50am ET.
- Next meeting: 9:00am ET to 11:00am ET, Tuesday, 11 February 2025



Annex: 2024 Organization Roster

Position	Name	Employed	Affiliation
Acting Chair	Edward Au	Huawei Canada	Self
Vice Chair	Jon Rosdahl	Qualcomm	Qualcomm
Secretary and Treasurer	Vacant		
Members	Dennis Brophy	Siemens EDA	Siemens EDA
	Joe Levy	InterDigital	InterDigital
	Michael Montemurro	Huawei	Huawei
	Annette Reilly	Self	Self
Program Manager (Lead)	Jonathan Goldberg	IEEE SA	IEEE SA
Program Manager (Projects)	Soo Kim	IEEE SA	IEEE SA



